Alberta College of Social Workers

Competence Committee

The Competence Committee includes up to ten registered Social Workers appointed by Council, preferably including one representative from an approved Alberta University Social Work program, one representative from an approved Alberta College Social Work program, a Council liaison and up to seven other social workers representative of the profession. Social Workers who are interested in participating on this committee should indicate their interest on the annual renewal form. Council appoints the chair or co-chairs. The Manager of Regulatory Practice and a Professional Administrative Support provides staff support to the Competence Committee.

The Competence Committee makes policy recommendations to ACSW Council pertaining to the competence program, which, if approved, all Registered Social Workers are required to complete. The Competence Committee conducts audits of members’ portfolios. The Competence Committee has authority under the law to place conditions on a member’s practice permit, and if they do so they must monitor compliance with those conditions. Further details regarding the history and development of the Competence Program can be found in the Continuing Competence Program Member Handbook.